Museum Week – Day 4

The Cleveland Museum of Natural History is quite an interesting museum.  It rose from humble beginnings in 1920 from the vision of a small group of people passionate about the natural sciences.  When I think of CMNH, I picture dinosaurs, fossils, and animal shows.  Oh no!, The Cleveland Museum of Natural History is far more than that.

explorer-store.cmnh

“The Museum offers an extraordinary visitor experience.  Permanent exhibits of special interest include the 3 million-year-old human ancestor Australopithecus afarensis, known as “Lucy,” and the 150 million-year-old Haplocanthosaurus delfsi, one of the most complete mounted sauropods on display anywhere in the world.

The Museum also features a planetarium, observatory, discovery center, live animal shows and a wildlife center and woods garden highlighting native Ohio flora and fauna, including bobcats, river otters and birds of prey. Traveling exhibitions, lecture series and public programs are offered frequently. Amenities include the Museum Store, Blue Planet Café, outdoor picnic tables and on-site parking.

Behind the scenes, curators work in 11 natural science disciplines. Their research helps inform the Museum’s many educational programs. Outside Museum walls, the Natural Areas Program protects more than 4,000 acres of rare habitat in Northern Ohio.

The Museum is located in the heart of University Circle, just five miles east of downtown Cleveland. It is open daily, except for major holidays, and is accessible for those with physical challenges,” boasts their website.

I was very excited to see that the museum offers “the Natural Areas Wine Tour”.    Imagine that, wine-tasting while exploring some of Ohio’s great wineries and all offered by a museum, who knew!

Although not FREE!  I still think that this is a great deal and a great way to socialize….. exercise…… and explore!

About the Natural Areas Wine Tour

Trips will be limited to 30 participants. Hikes start at 10 am and end around noon. Participants will then travel to the designated winery for a light lunch and wine tasting. Group leaders will recap the morning’s events and answer questions about the natural areas visited. Each trip is $35 per person. There are a total of 5 tours running from June 1, 2013 through to September 28, 2013.

There are some great lectures and programs that are open and FREE to the public! So check out the Cleveland Museum of Natural History’s website http://www.cmnh.org or I click on the link at the top of this post for your convenience.  

Stayed tuned for the 5th and final day of  “Museum Week” !

 

 

44 thoughts on “Museum Week – Day 4

    • Thank you. I am glad you enjoyed the article. I am sorry, but I do not read or speak french well. I studied it in college, but I wish I would have continued. I love your language.

    • Hi everyone, I am doing a university project on these issues and I have some additional information that may help in my work. would you help me?

      Tuurlijk, wat heb je te helpen bij nodig?

  1. Hey, mein Name ist trixter108 und Ich bin neu in diesen Foren. Ich denke, was mativated mich war beizutreten, um Feedback zu meinen ersten Computer bekommen zu bauen, bevor ich ging und baute es. Ich bin 18 Jahre alt und bin in der Schule. Ich habe immer in Tech und Computer gewesen, aber leider nie Zeit zu einem meiner eigenen zu bauen gefunden. Ich liebe Sport und spielen eine andere Sportart zu jeder Jahreszeit. Ich bin eine sehr athletische Person und ich liebe zum Wandern und Erkunden. Ich bin auch und addrenaline Junkie. Ich habe Fallschirmspringen und Bungee-Jumping und bin immer auf der Suche nach neuen Möglichkeiten, um einen Adrenalinstoß bekommen. Wie auch immer, ich habe noch nie einen Computer vor, gebaut, aber nie das Geld noch Zeit, dies zu tun. Ich hoffe, dass diese Foren gibt mir konstruktives Feedback und motivieren mich, endlich buils meinem eigenen Computer.

    • Hey, my name is trixter108 and I am new to these forums. I think what was mativated join to get feedback to build my first computer before I went and built it myself. I am 18 years old and am in school. I have always been in tech and computers, but unfortunately never found time to build my own. I love sports and play a different sport every season. I am a very athletic person and I love to go hiking and exploring. I am also and addrenaline junkie. I have skydiving and bungee jumping and am always looking for new ways to get an adrenaline rush. Anyway, I have never used a computer before, built but never have the money or time to do so. I hope that this forum gives me constructive feedback and motivate me to finally buils my own computer.

      Nun willkommen in diesem Forum Trixter 108! Ich denke, dass Sie in diesem Forum zu genießen, weil es so viele Menschen, die andere zu finden mit dem gleichen Vorlieben sind. So finden Sie Hilfe. Folgen Sie einfach den empfohlenen Blogs und Sie werden auf Ihrem Weg!

    • Very nice and informative article from every angle. Please send more!

      Grazie per le parole incoraggianti voi. Ho un po ‘di informazioni più grande in modo da controllare spesso.

  2. En commençant par une déclaration positive ouvre la diaglog alors une déclaration négative l’arrêter! En outre, vous voulez probablement ajouter à la discussion par rapport à plaindre. Voilà pour les compétences sociales.

    • Starting with a positive statement opens the dialog then a negative statement to stop it! In addition, you probably want to add to the discussion in relation to complain. So much for social skills.

      “Museum Week – Day 4
      MAY 17, 2013 BY CARLY’Z CORNER
      14
      The Cleveland Museum of Natural History is quite an interesting museum. It rose from humble beginnings in 1920 from the vision of a small group of people passionate about the natural sciences. When I think of CMNH, I picture dinosaurs, fossils, and animal shows. Oh no!, The Cleveland Museum of Natural History is far more than that.”

      Esta es la declaración de apertura a mi mensaje que está comentando … Yo apolgize si usted siente que la declaración fue negativo. I acutally pensé que estaba alabando el Museo de Historia Natural de Cleveland por ser algo más que un lugar donde la gente piensa que las reliquias antiguas residen. Agradezco sus comentarios, y voy a tener en cuenta sus comentarios. Tener un gran día.

    • My name is Ben, and I currently live in St. Louis, MO area doing work as a network controller.

      Hola Ben, y bienvenido. Siéntase libre de visitar mi sitio tan a menudo como quieras. Estoy tratando de encontrar una manera para que las empresas anuncian más barato en mi sitio. Mantente en contacto, y tal vez usted puede adverties su negocio aquí en Carly’z Corner.

    • I wanted alone to say that many people that I am there outside * simply * leaving them “large post” generic comments are outside for a little ‘of alone visibility

      Quindi, stai dicendo che quello che sto postando è generico? Vorresti vedere qualcos’altro pubblicato sul mio sito? O stai solo commentando solo e non sei un blogger?

  3. Hallo, mijn naam is jon ik ben nieuw op deze site ben, zijn hobby’s bouwen computers, en, elektronisch kitHey iedereen. Ik ben fatsoenlijk met computers en in staat om veel van mijn vrienden ‘problemen op te lossen op mijn eigen geweest zijn, maar ik vaak opzoeken antwoorden en leer meer en meer over hoe het te repareren. Ik heb mezelf gevonden op deze website regelmatig, dus ik dacht na al die tijd, kan ik net zo goed aan! S Ik ben afgestudeerd aan de hoogste onderscheidingen in games design en, ook een afgestudeerde van de computer programmeren. Ik ben ook in te maximium computers tijdschrift, goed thats me gerust een antwoord help ik met veel tech vraag goed goede dag tech regels plaatsen!.

    • Hello, my name is grant am new am I on this site, are hobbies build computers, and, electronic kitHey everybody. I am decent with computers and in state many of my friends ‘problems on to discharge on my own been be, but I sleepiness look up answer and leather more and more over how it to repair. I found myself on this website regular, thus I thought after all that time, can I neat so good on! S I have been graduated at the most differences in games design and, also a graduated of the computer program. I am help want to place also in to maximium computers periodical, good thats me easy an answer I with many tech good good day tech rules!.

      Verwelkom goed aan boord, Toelage!

  4. Non so dove stai ricevendo le tue informazioni, ma ottimo argomento. Ho bisogno di trascorrere un po ‘di tempo di apprendimento più o comprensione più. Grazie per il magnifico informazioni che stavo cercando questa info per la mia missione

    • I do not know where you’re getting your info, but great topic. I need to spend a bit ‘of time learning more or understanding more. Thanks for the wonderful information I was looking for this info for my mission

      Sono contento che hai trovato le informazioni utili. Io continuerò a cercare di postare roba interessante e utile. Visitare spesso.

  5. Ik heb op deze site voor een klein beetje, maar heb me nog niet geïntroduceerd. Ik weet heel wat over computer / xbox / OS hardware en software en verious andere elektronica. Ik ben erg groot op de retail kant ook. Ik hou van het bouwen, de vaststelling en de wijziging van de computer en was onlangs op zoek naar een online community te helpen bouwen en te groeien in de kennis van wat ik graag aan de meeste doen. Kijken ernaar uit om samen met jullie.

    • I’ve been on this site for a little bit, but have not introduced me. I know a lot about computer / xbox / OS hardware and software and verious other electronics. I’m very big on the retail side as well. I love the building, the establishment and modification of the computer and was recently looking for an online community to help build and grow in the knowledge of what I like to do most. Look forward to working with you.

      Welkom!

  6. Belle message a été partagé avec beaucoup de bonnes connaissances. merci pour le partage tel article ici. il serait bon de voir si vous pouvez partager certaines informations relatives aux Cuba Cheap Forfaits de vacances ici dans cet article. continuer à afficher un tel article ici dans l’avenir aussi.

    • Beautiful message has been shared with many good knowledge. thank you for sharing such article here. it would be good to see if you can share some on Cuba Cheap vacation packages information here in this article. continue to display such article here in future too.

      Vous demandez, et vous recevrez …. Je vais voir ce que je peux trouver des vacances bon marché à Cuba. Serait au départ de la France?
      Merci beaucoup pour les paroles encourageantes.

    • Great topic I think I saw at least 50% of these comments on my blog.
      Grazie …. si prega di mantenere il controllo indietro spesso, ho qualche informazione più utile per i miei seguaci.

    • Hey, you know about the products that can help us in this matter?

      Ik vond deze informatie op Wikipedia …. de website van het Natural History Museum in Duitsland is, http://www.naturkundemuseum-berlin.de/en/
      Het Museum für Naturkunde (MFN), soms genoemd de Naturkundemuseum of Humboldt Museum voor kort, (officieel: Museum für Naturkunde – Leibniz-Institut für Evolutions-und Biodiversitätsforschung an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin), is een natuurhistorisch museum in Berlijn, Duitsland. Het museum herbergt meer dan 30 miljoen zoölogische, paleontologische en mineralogische exemplaren, waaronder meer dan tienduizend type-exemplaren. Het is beroemd om twee spectaculaire tentoonstellingen: het grootste gemonteerd dinosaurus in de wereld, en een prachtig bewaard exemplaar van de vroegst bekende vogel, Archaeopteryx.
      Opgericht in 1810, is het grootste museum voor natuurlijke historie in Duitsland. Minerale collecties van het museum dateren uit de Pruisische Academie van 1700. Belangrijke historische zoölogische specimens omvatten die teruggevorderd door de Duitse diepzee Valdiva expeditie (1898-1899), de Duitse Southpolar Expeditie (1901-1903), en de Duitse Sunda Expeditie (1929-1931). Expedities naar fossiele bedden in Tendaguru in voormalige Deutsch Ostafrika (vandaag Tanzania) opgegraven rijke paleontologische schatten. De collecties zijn zo uitgebreid dat minder dan 1 op 5.000 exemplaren wordt tentoongesteld, en ze trekken onderzoekers uit de hele wereld.

      Ik hoop dat dit nuttig?

    • Top message. I’m looking forward to reading more. Cheers

      Gracias por el cumplido. Espero que la información que blog es interesante y útil. Por favor, visite con frecuencia.

  7. Danke für die kluge Kritik. Me & my Nachbarn bereiteten sich einige der Forschung über das zu tun. Wir bekamen ein ausgezeichnetes Buch über diese Angelegenheit von unserer örtlichen Bibliothek und die meisten Bücher genau dort, wo nicht so influensive wie Ihre Informationen. Ich bin sehr froh, diese Informationen, die ich für eine lange Zeit auf der Suche war zu sehen.

    • Thanks for the wise critique. Me & my neighbor were preparing to do some research about that. We got a excellent book on that matter from our local library and most books exactly where not as influensive as your information. I am very glad to see such information which I was for a long time looking.

      Ich bin froh, dass mein Blog hat Ihnen einige hilfreiche Informationen. Überprüfen Sie zurück häufig als Ich werde weiterhin versuchen, einige nützliche Informationen posten.

    • Alden’s comment in english: “This was a very simple explaination. However I wish I could understand the definitions a little better in the first paragraph.”

      The first paragraph of Museum Week – Day 4 translated into Spanish for Alden:
      El Museo de Cleveland de la Historia Natural es bastante un museo interesante. Subió de principios humildes en 1920 de la visión de un pequeño grupo de personas apasionadas acerca de las ciencias naturales. Cuando pienso en CMNH, yo me imagino dinosaurios, los fósiles, y exposiciones de animal. Ah no!, El Museo de Cleveland de la Historia Natural es mucho más que eso.

    • Always very informative. I read some articles here and I must say this is the best.

      Ich bin froh, dass Sie gefunden haben meine Beiträge informativ. Hoffentlich haben Sie in der Lage, einige der Tipps, die ich geschrieben und verwendet sie zu nehmen. Vielen Dank für das Kompliment.

    • Well, thank you! I hoped that the information I find is useful to others. I know I enjoy the free things in and around Cleveland. I hope to encourage others to look for and enjoy the free things offered within their communities.

Hey! What have you enjoyed for FREE?

